What’s the Big Matte’n Deal?

  

I grew up in the Christina Aguilera dirrrrrrrty days…  Long gone are the days of Britney Spears oiled up with a snake around her neck.  For the sake of the upcoming Summer (and my oily skin) can’t those days come back?!  

Britney hun, I can’t control it either!

Honestly, I’m tired of everyone who has oily skin needing to be matte, and everyone who has dry skin needing to be “luminous?”  Can’t I be luminous too?!  Can’t I be dewy?  Can’t I glow?!

I just don’t remember a time until about 2 years ago, when all of these matte products started flooding the market, and I too fell into the matte trap.

I found a few articles from 2013 about the new matte trend that was becoming all the rage.  Like this one from Beauty World News.  The New York Times reported in October of 2013 that matte skin was the trend at NY Fashion Week.  

There are some really beautiful examples of matte makeup application, but there is a lot of skin prep involved, and if you don’t take those measures, you can go from matte to patchy really quickly.  

If you are going for a specific makeup look, the Internet is your oyster!  Do research!  Find the best products for your skin and skill level, and don’t just purchase something because someone who is sponsored told you to do so. 

Gorgeous example of a matte look ! Photo courtesy of Pout_Cosmetics on Instagram

If you’re an oily girl like myself, I understand the need to not be a puddle of oil by the end of the day, but we can also be gorgeous and glowy.  (And since we are oily, we don’t always need highlighters to achieve the look! 😜) 

I’m ranting a little, but the point is, apply your makeup the way you want to apply it!  If you want to be matte, be matte, if you want to be luminous, be luminous, but don’t fall into a trend just because it’s being marketed to you.

A wise being once said: 

2 thoughts on “What’s the Big Matte’n Deal?

  1. Yeah, I agree with this. My skin is normal to dry and cosmetic counter salespeople are always trying to sell me products that will make my skin “glow” and “look luminous”. Ehhhh…sometimes I want that look but sometimes I don’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

