Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics

IMG_7272

It’s the first Saturday night of 2015, and here I am in my bathroom (AKA Tiny Beauty Blog Headquarters), eating discounted Christmas candy and swatching shadows.  Seriously, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

As of late, I have been having a love affair with Urban Decay Cosmetics.  If you have followed me long enough, you will notice that I have all of my love affairs with makeup, and I cheat often.  (Insert cute wink and cheek click here.)  My latest love has been the Naked 2 Basics palette from Urban Decay.  I originally purchased this palette as a gift for one of my besties, the writer of Confessions of a Filipina, and realized that I indeed wanted one for myself.

IMG_7273 IMG_7274

I am usually one to wear lots of color, whether it be on my eyes, lips, or cheeks, but it is important to also be versed in netural tones as well, for certain events, so I went ahead and purchased this palette for myself.

When I swatched in-store, I loved the pigmentation and the silky smooth texture of Naked2.  The shades in this palette are very cool-hued, and very taupe, but oh so appropriate for everyday looks.

When I brought it home, I loved it even more.  Because the shadows are muted, and in the same color family, they are easier to blend and they are great shadows to practice with.  The palette size is perfect for those who are inexperienced, because there are only 6 shades, so you won’t get overwhelmed by the choices.

I am an NC42 in MAC, so the colors are a little more muted on me than they would be on someone with fairer skin, but I think these shadows would work with most people, you just might have to use a brightening shadow primer to support the color.

IMG_7275 IMG_7276

As I am getting older, I am leaning toward more matte looks, and this palette is a great starting point for a matte collection.  The price point is just right, and the shadows are high quality.

I am definitely going to be looking at the first Naked Basics palette, as well as the rest of the Naked Palettes that Urban Decay offers.

Do you own any of the Naked palettes?  Do you like Urban Decay’s shadow formulas?

Leave a Reply

