Mac Oil Control Lotion-What is This Stuff?

photo 1

I was recently at the MAC store in town, and I asked to be matched with a new shade of Studio Fix Fluid Foundation.  I explained my skintype to the artist, which is combo/oily, and she prepped my skin with the MAC Oil Control Lotion.

I decided to purchase the new shade of Studio Fix Fluid, and the associate asked me if I also wanted to purchase the Oil Control Lotion, but I declined, as it just wasn’t in my budget.

When I got to the till, I noticed that there were $10 minis of various products, and the Oil Control Lotion happened to be one of them.

photo 2

Out of the bottle, the fomula is somewhat runny, and immediately absorbs into the skin.

I have used this lotion 3 times and I’m slightly on the fence about it.  It has a really pleasant smell, the formula is not too thick, but it absorbs into the skin quickly and doesn’t really do much moisturizing.  It does however really control oil.  My skin stays EXTRA MATTE with this Oil Control Lotion under my foundation and powder.  Is it a moisturizer, is it a primer?  I’m not 100% sure.

I need to play with this formula a little more to balance my skin.  With this lotion, I can feel my makeup sitting on top of my skin, and it seems to make my makeup look a little cakey.  So I think I might need to do a water spritz or finishing spray on top of my finished makeup so it has a little more natural look.

The bottle says you can use it day or night, but I would never use this at night because I like moisture on my face at night, so I will continue to try this Oil Control Lotion, but only under makeup.

Have you tried Mac Oil Control Lotion?  Do you like it?

One thought on “Mac Oil Control Lotion-What is This Stuff?

Leave a Reply

