MAC Pump: Is $10 Too Much?

photo 4

I have been a MAC fan for years! I have used Studio Fix powder for about 12 years, and last year before I got married I was looking for the perfect wedding foundation and found Studio Fix Fluid. What bothered me most, was that it didn’t come with a PUMP! Grrr.

photo 1 photo 2

Pouring product on my hand didn’t really bother me much, what bothered me was the mess when I screwed the cap back on. The residual foundation would seep out when screwing on the cap, and make a mess.

My old Studio Fix Fluid without the pump.  You can see where the foundation would seep out, and the wear on the cap from having to wipe it down before putting it away.

My old Studio Fix Fluid without the pump. You can see where the foundation would seep out, and the wear on the cap from having to wipe it down before putting it away.

I recently purchased a new Studio Fix Fluid in a different shade, (I was finally color matched perfectly after all of these years!) and decided it was the right time to purchase a pump, for an easier and more sanitary foundation application.

I am really glad I purchased the pump because it will keep air and germs out of the bottle.  The head of the pump locks and has a cap so there is less chance of mess and waste of your precious foundation.

photo 3

HOWEVER, when I checked my receipt once I got home, I saw that the pump which used to cost $6 not so long ago, is now $10! That’s a lot of money for such a small piece of plastic! I’m really disappointed that MAC would charge so much for something that should automatically come with their Studio Fix Fluid foundation.

While I’m happy the pump will serve its purpose, I’m not convinced it is worth the price.

The foundation pump is the perfect accessory for a bottle of Studio Fix Fluid.

The foundation pump is the perfect accessory for a bottle of Studio Fix Fluid.

What are your thoughts? Do you think this is a fair price for the pump? Do you use Studio Fix Fluid?  Do you think I’m just being cheap?

One thought on “MAC Pump: Is $10 Too Much?

Leave a Reply

