Ipsy: How I Feel About My Subscrition a Year Later, and September Unboxing

photo 1

I have been an Ipsy subscriber for a little over a year now, and while I loved it at first, I think I am becoming bored.  I keep the subscription because the cosmetic bag alone is worth it, the designs are always really cute, and $10 is the amount I would spend on one day’s lunch.

Lately the products  that I have been getting in my Glam Bag have been a little underwhelming.  It seems like they are cycling through the same products and brands month by month.  (Same for Birchbox, they’ve been cycling that Cynthia Rowley eyeliner for a while.)

Ipsy was the first beauty subscription that I signed up for, but I have discovered so many others in the year since.

I am hoping with the amount of people still wanting to subscribe/on waiting lists, Ipsy’s sub service gets some more coveted samples that will inspire us to purchase full sizes.  (Because that’s the point of these beauty sample subscriptions, right?) I will stick with Ipsy, but if I don’t feel like I am getting samples I will use, then I may have to move along.

With that said, here’s Ipsy’s September 2014 Glam Bag:

photo

The theme this month is Street Style

(All following photos courtesy of Ipsy.com)

Hikari lipstick in Cabernet

Hikari lipstick in Cabernet

Be a Bombshell Smooth Criminal Powder Made from 100% Silica

Be a Bombshell Smooth Criminal Powder Made from 100% Silica

Mitchell and Peach Luxury Hand Cream.  Did not have a pleasant scent to me, but scent is subjective so I'm sure there are others who love it-just not me.

Mitchell and Peach Luxury Hand Cream. Did not have a pleasant scent to me, but scent is subjective so I’m sure there are others who love it-just not me.

Nourish Organic Moisturizing Cream Face Cleanser.

Nourish Organic Moisturizing Cream Face Cleanser.

Pacifica 7 Free Nail Polish in Red Red Wine.

Pacifica 7 Free Nail Polish in Red Red Wine.

All in all, since Ipsy is so inexpensive it is worth it for people who don’t have access to new products, teens, or those who are makeup novices.  It is a good place to start if you want to get a subscription box.

Here is my Ipsy link if you are thinking of giving it a try: ipsy.com

Are you an Ipsy subscriber?  Do you subscribe to any other beauty boxes?

3 thoughts on “Ipsy: How I Feel About My Subscrition a Year Later, and September Unboxing

  1. I love Ipsy. I did Birchbox for a year but hated those tiny samples and repeat products. I like that with Ipsy you very regularly get full-sized items thrown into the mix. It’s a great deal for only $10/month!

    Like

    • It’s hard to say with Ipsy. It’s hit or miss. I think maybe 1 or 2 bags out of every 5 are a hit for me. I gave away quite a few of my samples last year, simply because I knew I wouldn’t use them. However, almost every makeup bag that ipsy has given me each month has been really gorgeous, so it makes it kind of worth it even if you didn’t like your samples.

      Like

Leave a Reply

