Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer

dream-lumi-concealer_pack-shot-crop

(Image via Maybelline.com)

Maybe it’s Maybelline, or maybe it’s not this time.

I have been using Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer for about a month now, and I can honestly say I’m on the fence about it.  I really wanted to like this concealer.  People on makeupsocial app have been raving about it, so I thought I would definitely give it a try.

Dream Lumi is supposed to be a gel based formula, but it doesn’t seem that way coming out of the dial pen.  In fact it almost have a somewhat dry formula, or at least it does now a few weeks in.  I don’t do too much contouring, so my primary use for this concealer is to cover my dark circles.

IMG_3265 IMG_3263

Maybelline says that you can get the best results by using it to:

To brighten face, apply over brows as well as to the inner and outer corners of eyes and blend with tip of finger.
Apply to sides of nose and on chin and blend to give your face a luminous glow.
To sculpt and highlight facial features, apply in small strokes to the cheekbones and blend.
To make lips look fuller, outline lips with lumi concealer and blend.
To cover imperfections, dot concealer onto desired area and blend.

So maybe I’m doing it wrong?

Dream Lumi’s container is just okay.  You have to twist to get the product out, and sometimes it seems the product isn’t coming out right away, so I keep twisting and clicking, then too much product comes out.  If you leave product on the attached brush, it will definitely affect the texture of the concealer on your next use.  Which is why it seems dried out now a few weeks later.

Don’t get me wrong, this concealer does work to conceal, but I don’t think that it delivers on the “light diffusing” or really have anything different in the formula that other concealers don’t have.

Honestly I purchased Dream Lumi because I heard it was a dupe for the YSL Touche Éclat highlighter.  That was me being cheap!  Dream Lumi is fine as a drugstore concealer, but I don’t think I will repurchase.

I have found that I much prefer a doe foot applicator with my cream concealers for more accurate application, so I will stick to my Maybelline FitMe concealer and my Nars Creamy Concealer.

Give me some recommendations on concealers to try!  Did you think Dream Lumi was a Dupe for Touche Éclat?

3 thoughts on “Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer

  1. I actually really liked this concealer! Sorry to hear that you didn’t like it. Oh well, like I always say, everyone is different and different products work out differently for everyone. Great post! 🙂 xox

    Like

  2. I was really on the fence about this one too, u never repurchased. If you’re looking for under eye concealer i would recommend Mac Prep and Prime Highlighter x

    Like

  3. I also used this concealer for quite a while, and it took me a long time to realize that I just didn’t like it that much – and for the same reasons you list! I didn’t get enough coverage out of it, and the applicator was a PAIN! It took forever to dial up the product, so I ended up chucking it. I now prefer the Maybelline Age Rewind brightener.

    Like

Leave a Reply

