Ugh! Coconut Oil For The Hair *Sigh*

photo 2

Today I was in the zone.  The house cleaning zone.  When I’m doing a deep clean of my house, I try to multitask, and part of my multitasking today was letting coconut oil sit in my hair and moisturize while I cleaned.

Badddddd idea.  

I get that coconut oil works great for some people, it did nothing for me.  As soon as I applied it to my hair I knew it was going to be a bad idea.  The smell of the coconut oil did not mesh well with my body chemistry and just smelled terrible.

Since I assaulted my hair with my homemade sea salt spray the other day, I thought that it would be a good idea to add some moisture back in.  

My hair before the coconut oil treatment.  This is having slept on it in a claw clip.

My hair before the coconut oil treatment. This is having slept on it in a claw clip.

 

Just applied the coconut oil, already regretting that decision.

Just applied the coconut oil, already regretting that decision.

After applying the coconut oil, I rolled my hair into a claw clip, added a little heat from the blow dryer, and snapped on a shower cap. After letting the coconut oil sit in my hair for a while, I took a long shower, washed my hair multiple times, and let it air dry.

After air drying for a while, I decided to style my hair as I normally do.  I have naturally thick and curly hair, and I normally flat iron it straight.  

photo 4

After flat ironing: Gross-ness

photo 2

 

I am super unhappy with the results.  My hair is still heavy and oily at the roots after washing it multiple times.  When I wash and style my hair normally, I usually add Argan Oil to the bottom half of my hair and then heat style and it works out nicely for me.  The coconut oil is just too heavy and did not make a difference in how my hair feels, so the trouble wasn’t worth it for me.  

After styling.  It is hard to tell in the picutre, but my hair is super oily at the roots and heavy,  Not flowy at all  I guarantee if I went outside in the heat, my hair would become an even oilier mess!

After styling. It is hard to tell in the picutre, but my hair is super oily at the roots and heavy, Not flowy at all I guarantee if I went outside in the heat, my hair would become an even oilier mess!

However, coconut oil treatment will work for someone who has really dry hair and scalp.  Since I tend to get oily at my roots two days after washing, I did not need the extra moisturizing.  I will stick to my normal routine.  

 

Have you used coconut oil on your hair or skin?  Is there a lighter homemade hair treatment you suggest?  Will you be washing your hair two days in a row like me?  

Happy Saturday night!

5 thoughts on “Ugh! Coconut Oil For The Hair *Sigh*

  1. I don’t use any hair oils because my hair is way too short for those intense treatments. I’ve read that oils should only be applied at the ends, at least 6-8 inches away from the scalp because of the problem you describe. (And since I don’t even have 6″ of hair, that rules out oils for me!) Maybe using a better-smelling product try just on the ends / portions away from the scalp?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I found the same thing as you when I did this to my hair – I have since read that you should apply this only to the mid to end length of your hair as to not have it greasy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

