My DIYs Turn Into WTFs-Homemade Sea Salt Spray

In the Pinterest-ed world we live in now, everyone is going do-it-yourself crazy.  I’m lazy and not one to be vested in D.I.Y. projects but I figured I would take one for the team on this.  I have been wanting a sea salt spray for quite some time, but since I don’t typically wear my hair any way but straight, I didn’t want to spend a whole lot of cash on that type of hair product. 

As with any current D.I.Y. project, my search landed me on Pinterest.  I chose the easiest recipe I could find, and went for it.  

Sea Salt Spray for Beachy Waves:

  • 8 ounces warm water
  • 3 tablespoons sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon leave-in conditioner
  • 1 tablespoon strong hold gel 

Instructions:  mix warm water and sea salt, until salt is dissolved.  Mix in conditioner and gel.  Pour into spray bottle. 

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

This recipe was simple and easy.  I would have used a different conditioner though, because Lush R&B smells strongly of patchouli and that didn’t go mesh with the heavy fresh scent of the Garnier gel. 

The spray was a little sticky upon application, and left my bathroom floor sticky as well.  It did give me results, my hair was easily scrunchable and had a cute wavy look, but nothing I couldn’t have achieved with mousse, hairspray, or spray gel. 

This spray made my hair feel dry, and my scalp itched from the salt.

Beach Waves?

Beach Waves?

Is it worth it to make?  Yes.  If you have the items laying around the house and want to give yourself something to do?  Make it.  If you love the scent of your leave in conditioner and want to make a spray gel out of it?  Make it.  Otherwise, just buy some mousse or spray gel from the store for 3 bucks. 

Any other beauty D.I.Y. projects I should try?  Do you like D.I.Y. beauty? 

2 thoughts on “My DIYs Turn Into WTFs-Homemade Sea Salt Spray

Leave a Reply

