Sonia Kashuk Brush and Sponge Cleanser-Not Clean Enough For Me

unnamed

How often do you clean your makeup brushes and sponges?  What do you clean them with?  I have tried a couple of different methods of brush cleaning that have been quite effective but I’m always up to trying new things.

I was at Target yesterday afternoon, and spotted the Sonia Kashuk brush and sponge cleanser.  Since I didn’t have any real brush cleaner at my house I decided to pick it up.  My brushes were in need of a good scrubbing, so I used the Sonia Kashuk cleanser as soon as I got home.  

All of my disgusting dirty brushes were all the same color.  Yikes!

All of my disgusting dirty brushes were the same color. Yikes!  Also, don’t judge me.

The directions for this brush and spones are as follows:

1.  Wet brush hair or sponge then liberally spray on brush and sponge cleanser.

2.  Work in cleanser by massaging with your fingers to form a good lather.

3.  Fully rinse until water runs clear.  You may need to repeat step 2 for sponges.

4.  For brushes: Using your thumb and index finger, squeeze all water out of the hair, starting at the ferrule and pulling through until you pass the tips of the hair.  

5.  Lay flat to dry.

I followed all of these step, which were the steps I always use to clean my brushes.  I just really didn’t like this cleanser.  There was really no “lather” as explained in step 2.  After spraying my brushes, working through, and rinsing with water a few times, there was still foundation residue on some of my brushes, and I was really dissatisfied.  I have had more success cleaning my brushes with dawn soap, or baby shampoo.

Drying out after cleaning.  I didn't get a picture of them dry, because I had to use them early this morning to get ready for work.

Drying out after cleaning. I didn’t get a picture of them dry, because I had to use them early this morning to get ready for work.

This brush cleansing spray just seemed like heavily diluted soap, and I could have made it myself.  I was very disappointed in this product.  

Sonia Kashuk brushes are absolutely beautiful so I wouldn’t mind picking up a few of her sets, I just wouldn’t clean them with this cleansing product.  

In case you are interested in trying this product yourself, you can get it here:  Sonia Kashuk Brush and Sponge Cleanser

What do you use to clean and soften your brushes?  A lot of ladies have been using a cleanser called Zote Soap.  Have you used it?

Leave a Reply

