Let’s Talk About E.L.F. Baby, Let’s Talk About You and Me

e.l.f. Studio High Definition Powder  (image from eyeslipsface.com)

e.l.f. Studio High Definition Powder
(Image from eyeslipsface.com)

My really good friend who wears just about as much makeup as I do gifted me the e.l.f. Studio High Definition Powder in sheer.  She is an oily girl like me and knows that I am always on the hunt for mattifying products.   

A couple of weeks before, I picked up the Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder from Tarte.  I had been applying Smooth Operator over my full face for a couple of weeks so I was familiar with using this type of translucent setting powder. 

Some people say that the e.l.f. Studio High Definition Powder has terrible packaging, but I have no had any problems with it whatsoever.  I just tap a little into the lid and swirl it with my large powder brush and apply.  I haven’t had any problems with mess.

When I received this e.l.f. HD powder, I switched it out for the Tarte S.O. powder and actually ended up liking the e.l.f. powder a bit better.  It also doesn’t help that the e.l.f. powder is $26 less expensive than the Tarte version, and they essentially do the same thing.

This result surprised me, because I actually really like Tarte.  Their whole line is amazing!  I usually shy away from e.l.f because I haven’t had the best experience with their products. 

The e.l.f. HD powder really held up throughout the day, and I had to dab away at my oil less than I usually do, which is a major plus.  It did not feel heavy, or make my skin feel tight, and it didn’t leave as light of a cast on me as the Tarte powder did. 

BUT and this is a big but, it broke me out!  After using for about a week, I noticed that I had quite a few large blemishes in places I usually don’t get them.  I wasn’t sure which of my products was causing this, but I stopped using the e.l.f. HD powder for two weeks, and my skin cleared up right away.

Will I stop using this powder?  Nope.  I really think it makes my makeup look flawless and even makes my pores almost disappear, but I will probably only use this on special occasions, and use the Tarte Smooth Operator for my daily needs.

I know quite a few brands are coming out with these types of oil absorbing translucent powders.  Which ones are your faves, or do you just stick to plain ‘ol cornstarch?

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About E.L.F. Baby, Let’s Talk About You and Me

Leave a Reply

