Black and White Bathroom Makeover

The best thing about living in your own home is having the freedom to customize things just the way you want to.  My master bathroom needed a whole lot of help.  It was just plain and boring with all of the contractor grade cabinets and fixtures.

My husband gave me free reign to do with the bathroom as I pleased, and I had a very specific vision in mind.  Funny enough, my whole bathroom was planned around a print that I purchased from Letters On Love on Etsy.  (I adore everything on Etsy, but that’s another blog for another day.)

The Bags Under My Eyes Are Chanel

The Bags Under My Eyes Are Chanel

It’s funny how it just takes one detail to inspire an entire project.  The biggest and most time consuming part of my project was the sanding and staining of the bathroom vanity.  I purchased Minwax PolyShades, which is a wood stain with polyurethane mixed in so I didn’t have to add a top coat to the cabinets after staining.  I spent one night clearing all of the drawers and cabinets, one night sanding, and another three days of staining and applying additional coats to make sure it was completely covered.

Before and After

Before and After

After sanding and staining we added black and white Pottery Barn knobs which really changed the whole look of the vanity.  We didn’t have the replace the surface because it was already white and went perfectly with the look we were going for,

Small Details

Small Details

The weekend that I was finishing up the work on the bathroom, my husband and I took a trip to TJ Maxx just to look around, and he came up to me and said, “Babe, I found the perfect thing I want to buy you, but you have to walk with me so you can see it.” So I walk over to the furniture area of the store and he showed me a chair he wanted to buy me for the bathroom.  He thought it would be nice if I could sit in the chair and do my makeup every morning.  It was the PERFECT final touch the bathroom needed.

photo 1 photo 2

 

It makes me so happy every morning to get ready in the bathroom we worked so hard in, and it is truly our own.

Have you taken on any home projects in the name of beauty?

One thought on “Black and White Bathroom Makeover

Leave a Reply

