Revlon ColorStay Makeup for Combination/Oily Skin

photo 1

With my oily/combination skin, I always want what I can’t have, which is MATTE SKIN!

My good friend came to my house, we were exchanging makeup, and she told me that Revlon ColorStay foundation was what she had been using lately and she really liked it for her oily/combo skin. She said it did a good job keeping her matte throughout the day.

I live for other’s recommendations, especially from people who have similar skin issues and skin tone that I do, so I decided that I was going to purchase this right away.

Revlon has this to say about their ColorStay formula:

Longwearing coverage with Time Release Technology and a lightweight formula that won’t cake, fade, or rub off. Specifically made for combination or oily skin to control oil absorption and shine. Your look stays flawless throughout the day.

 

• Comfortable, shine-free finish for up to 24 hours
• 20 beautiful, longwearing shades
• Buildable to full coverage

I headed over to WalMart on another lunch break excursion, and tried to eyeball the shade that looked closest to my skin color.  I ended up choosing 310 Warm Golden in the combination/oily skin formula.  I got it home, tried it out, and realized that it was just a couple of shades too light for me. I really wanted to give this foundation a good test, so I went back to the store and picked up 360 Golden Caramel which seemed a little closer of a match for my skin.

I wore the Revlon ColorStay foundation in Golden Caramel for a few of my 12 hour days, and while it did stay put and keep me matte most of the day, it could FEEL IT on my skin.  It made my skin feel tight and heavy all day long.  This is a quality I did not like, and this alone will keep me from making this my everyday go-to foundation.  I however did not try wearing this with a primer so maybe if I did, it might feel a little better.

I know this foundation is a Holy Grail for a lot of oily girl’s like myself, and since I have only used it a couple of times, I haven’t given it enough of a chance to allow me to form an opinion one way or another.

Final Verdict:

I’m still on the fence.  I will edit if I find a way to wear this foundation comfortably.

Leave a Reply

