Mini Drugstore Haul

It’s been hot as Hades here in my part of Northern California!  I work in an office building and my lunchtimes are best spent outside. Alone. In my car. Since it has been too hot for me to sit in my car for an hour at the hottest part of the day, I have been trying to find places to go so I can soak up some glorious free A/C!  Yesterday my lunch hour had me wandering around Walgreens, picking up items that I saw last night on Irene Mahmud’s YouTube Channel. She was doing her full face look, and I love her style of makeup, and plus she is brown like me, so I thought I would try to see if I could emulate her look.

My main reason for my trip to Walgreens was to pick up a couple of Maybelline and L’Oreal products from the video, but as I was perusing the cosmetic aisle of course I had to pick up a few other items.  (Of course! Insert my husband’s eyeroll here.)

Let’s just get on with my purchases.

I am a true red lip girl, and I was so excited to see E.L.F.’s The Fairest of Them All Lip Collection from their limited edition Snow White Collection. I checked out the Ariel collection a couple of weeks ago and didn’t really see anything that interested me.  It looked a little like child play makeup, so I decided to pass.  I love the packaging of the Snow White collection and this set really caught my interest.  It features a lip stain, a shimmer gloss, and a lip balm.  I am excited to try this collection, and for $4.99 I feel like it was a good buy.

photo 3

Maybelline FitMe foundation in 315, and Maybelline FitMe concealer in Sand.  These are two of the three products that brought me on my shopping excursion in the first place.  I actually put these two products on today before spending most of the day at the beach and I am surprised to say I am really happy with this foundation and concealer.  They held up better than some of my higher end face products and for the most part stayed put all day.

The foundation had medium coverage with one layer and it made my skin look flawless, while not feeling heavy on my skin.  Shade 315 really matched my NC42 skin nicely.

I liked the color of the FitMe concealer, and it was a great thin formula for everyday wear.  It covered my dark circles nicely without emphasizing them like other thicker formulas I have tried.

I got lucky as Walgreens had Maybelline cosmetics on sale for 40% off. These two products would work wonderfully for daily wear without looking cakey.  I will definitely be repurchasing after I run out.

(I did use a primer before applying the foundation, set my concealer with Ben Nye Banana Powder, and set my face with L’Oreal TrueMatch Powder.)

photo 4

This L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Powder was the third item I was on the hunt for at Walgreens.  I purchased this powder in N6 and it set my foundation beautifully.  I didn’t feel like it deposited too much color when I brushed it on, so no caked on feel, which worked well for my beach day, because of course I would wear full face to the beach. I will make this my go to setting powder for my everyday full face. Also it didn’t oxidize and make me orange!  Yay!

photo 5

There’s not much to say about Jordana.  They are a no frills brand but I have used them for a long time because they are CHEAP! I only buy their lip liners because they do stay on and work well.  I buy them in colors I want to try, and if I really like how the color looks on me, then I will try to find a dupe in a higher-end brand.  For my red lip, I usually like to line in Jordana’s Auburn or Brick lip liners and apply my MAC Russian Red, or Cailyn balm in Big Apple.

I can’t help but take a trip around the cosmetics aisle when I hit a drugstore, and I usually walk out with something!  I could own all of the luxury brands in the world, and I would still pick up tried and trues from Walgreens, CVS, Target, etc.

What are some of your favorite drugstore cosmetic brands? Anything you can’t live without?

Leave a Reply

